When creating and writing my project up, while creating the magazine I kept in mind legal or ethical issues that may effect my project in completion.

This is because of Media regulation (Control and guidance within the media and consists of rules ad procedures set by a specific governing bod o keep control of personal information, confidentiality and laws) and External regulation (Laws set by the Government to keep confidentiality and abide to strict laws)

Firstly, contempt of court doesn’t apply to the project as it was not a court case.

I thought about the defamation law and that when talking of people in my article, I was to keep their identities a secret. For example, I referred to others I knew that had read the book as ‘fans’ to not give away the identity of the person and to make the person anonymously give their opinion and views on the book. Also, the author, publisher (myself) and interviewee were all anonymous or not given any contact details to protect their confidentiality.

When creating my magazine I had to be aware of copyright and make sure all images, designs and text writing was of my own creation. This meant the photos I took, writing I wrote and designs I did were my own. Copyright is importamt

Section 51 of Ofcom also states that when writing my article, I had to make sure I wasn’t biased in anyway as I was writing about the positives and negatives of a film adaption on the book ‘Looking For Alaska’ and I wanted there to be a film. However, the article was a debate so I had to argue from both side. This meant myself, as a reporter, remained impartial throughout. However, in my book/film review I was allowed to state all of my own opinions.

 

