My top 10 Autumnal songs

Like Ned Stark from Game Of Thrones said: “Winter is coming”

Autumn is here and all of us are now snuggling up inside on the dark and cold nights. But what is more perfect than relaxing with a hot chocolate and that perfect Autumnal tune? Autumn has always been my favourite season and I really enjoy listening to calming music at night. I enjoy the deeper lyrics and melodies and I believe they make Autumn feel festive; and who doesn’t want that?

As the seasons change, so does my music, so here are my top ten autumnal songs to get you through the frosty mornings and chilly nights.

  1. Somewhere Only We Know – Keane

Between the nature-related lyrics and soothing verses, this song screams Autumn to me and is always played right into Winter. The song has even been used in the John Lewis Christmas advert covered by Lily Allen and when the song is played it always gets me into a festive mood.

2. Clementine – Sarah Jaffe

This indie folk song is a song about change and reflecting on the past and I feel it fits perfectly as the seasons change and the weather gets colder. Along with the year drawing to the end, I feel this song is perfect for this time of year. I like to play this song while I’m travelling and puts me in a good mood.

3. Sweater Weather – The Neighbourhood

Along with the very Autumnal song title, the lyrics talk of a relationship spent inside together as the weather gets cold. Perfect. I found this song nearly three years ago and would always play the song as the weather gets colder.

4. Stubborn Love – The Lumineers

The folky sound and lyrics are very suited to a long car journey in the transition from Autumn to Winter alike to the music video to this song.

5. Autumn Leaves – Ed Sheeran

Again, the title is very suited to Autumn and is perfect for playing on a long Autumnal walk in the woods. The song is also very emotional and sentimental and I can imagine sitting with a hot chocolate in my room wrapped up in blankets listening to the song.

6. I Know – Tom Odell

With many of the lyrics relating to things to do with Autumn, I believe Odell’s voice is one to definitely enjoy on the colder nights. I have always enjoyed the sung storyline in the song and image the story taking place in the colder months.

7. I Love You, Sleepyhead – Lanterns On The Lake

This song could be a lullaby. The sweet lyrics and calming voice makes it perfect for those nights spent snuggled up relaxing. When I found the song I would play it repetitively late at night and I think it would be a beautiful song to listen to in the early mornings when you’re first waking up

8. Holy Ground – Taylor Swift

The first time I heard this song was many years ago in Autumn. And I believe the pop-ish, upbeat sound and Autumn related lyrics is perfect for a Autumn day out and about. This song holds a lot of memories for me as I got the album that contained this song four years ago and I would always play this song during that time which was late October so around this time every read I love to play it!

9. Chasing Cars – Snow Patrol

There’s something about this song that makes me imagine it as a song for Autumn and Winter. I love listening to it on walks home at night and belongs on a Autumn playlist. The lyrics are completely genius in this song and the sound makes me feel like it would be perfect to listen to on a cold walk.

10. Let It All Go – Birdy & Rhodes

This duet is calming and their unique voices along with the setting of the music video makes me believe it belongs on an Autumn playlist. I liked to listen to this song very often last year. I enjoyed the sound of their voices and thought it was very peaceful. And all in all, this song is a great one for Autumn.

